Lullaby

It has become increasingly difficult to put Diya to sleep these days, thanks to the colic pain. And the doctor says that there is not much we can do about it except for trying to soothe the baby. Now, Diya’s grandmother has n number of lullaby that she sings to make her sleep. Alas, I am aware of only one  –

lala lala lori,

doodh ki katori,

doodh mein batasha,

munni kare tamasha

 (I don’t sing this one to her as I find it too boring and I am sure she does so too!)

There is another that I “accidentally” created! Well, that particular night was very frustrating as Diya refused to sleep, and I had tried almost all the tricks that could have been used to stop her from crying . In that (zombie) state of mind, I started to talk to myself. Surprisingly, she stopped crying and started to stare at me. I have no idea what she might be thinking of her mother at that time. But it was working! And so I kept on talking. Needless to say, most of it was nonsense! As the time passed, I started adding music and some sense to the “nonsense”, and the output is posted below :

 I have a baby

My baby’s name is “Beauty”*

She is very cutie

and she is such a sweety!

“Beauty” is like the star in sky

“Beauty” is the apple of my eye!

I have a baby

My baby’s name is “Beauty”

She is very cutie

and she is such a sweety!

“Beauty” is like the sunlight

So much warm and so much bright!

I have a baby

– – –

( – I am still working on it!  * “Beauty” is the nickname given by her grandmother)

There is another song that I sing to her – Theme for a dream by Cliff Richards. Technically, this song is not a lullaby, but it does have a calming effect on her! It has been one of my favorites too!

You are my theme for a dream
Yes you are, a rare and lovely theme (youre a theme for a dream)
The dreams I dream day and night
That your arms are holding me so tight (youre a theme for a dream)

When I dream I kiss you (kiss you)
Music fills with starlight (starlight)
Every time I touch you ( when I touch you)
Each and every time a chime rings out I love you
Only you for ever more

cause youre my theme for a dream
Yes you are a rare and lovely theme (youre my theme for a dream)
So, angel please say that you love me too
And make my dreams come true dream (youre my theme for a dream)

When I dream I kiss you (kiss you)
Music fills with starlight (starlight)
Every time I touch you ( when I touch you)
Each and every time a chime rings out I love you
Only you for ever more

cause youre my theme for a dream
Yes you are a rare and lovely theme (youre my theme for a dream)
So, angel please say that you love me too
And make my dreams come true dream

And make my dreams come true
Please make my dreams come true.

Lyrics from here

2 thoughts on “Lullaby

  1. sraikh:
    Even my mother and masis used to sing the first lullaby to me. That is how I remember it! I want my daughter to remember the lullaby that I sing to her. It is a special experience and we both should be able to enjoy it..

Leave a Reply

