Lonely

There are times when someone completely unrelated makes you feel his/her loneliness. On my recent flight to Calcutta, I observed this elderly gentleman sitting on the window seat opposite to mine. From his reluctant mannerisms, I concluded that this must be his first flight ever (well! I can be wrong. It might just be the nervousness of old age).There was a very marked expression of sadness in his eyes. I know it can be termed rude, but I did look at him every now and then, and couldn’t help but noticing the fear in his body language whenever there was turbulence during the journey. I saw his lips moving in silent prayer, fingers clenched tightly. At that moment I wished he was not alone and that there was someone sitting besides him, holding his hands and reassuring him. I really wish no one has to face loneliness like that ever..

Leave a Reply

