Motherhood lesson# 232

Learn to eat your own words.

There was a time when I was sure that I would never send Diya to a playschool as I thought it was just another rich man(woman)’s way of shrugging off parental responsibilities. I also believed that the initial lessons should always be given by the parents. And I was sure that family is enough to keep the kid entertained…

I had to reconsider all these things once I saw how happy Diya was with other kids (I guess that is how it is for all the kids around), and also how less time she gets to spend with them (since we don’t really have many kids in our building, and the ones that are there have their school and tough time schedule).
And so here I am, sitting in a play school, while Diya is playing with her ‘teacher’ and some kids in the other room.. Yes, I follow her around even in the school ;-). We have decided to start it off with one hour a day for a couple of months and depending on whether she is happy or not, we might extend/discontinue it.

I have a list ready with me now – of things that I would be denying/accepting later!!!

update: She was fine and happy for first 30minutes and then started crying as she was very sleepy..Overall, a good start πŸ™‚

22 thoughts on “Motherhood lesson# 232

  1. monikamanchanda says:

    oh good u put her in one.. i am debating with myself too

    whether i should put him in a playschool when he turns 2 or a Montessori at 2.5

    he gets his kids play time in the evening though

    • Its a good thing that he gets to interact with kids around.. Being a single child can have its own share of issues if he/she is not getting enough playtime with other kids. And that has been the major reason for me sending Diya off to the school so early..

  2. πŸ™‚

    my reasons and i am happy that i started Cubby off! he is so totally happy and i am seeing an improvement in his social skills already! within a months time!

    am sure diya will have lotsa fun!

    cheers!

    • Thanks re..

      First day was easy.. Today she was a little cranky, though.. I am hoping she would be able to adjust within a week or so.. Its for an hour only and still I am finding it rather difficult to let go 😦

  3. Yeah, the first few days I was wondering what kind of heartless beings send their defenseless, tottering kids off to that dastardly place called SCHOOL. Watching him thrash about and wail as they led him in did not help diminish that Auswizch image, either. A month later, he bounces inside with a sideways “OK bye, See you!” and comes out dancing and laughing. Now I wonder what kind of selfish, irrational beings would deprive their kids of the greatest joy in all the world– the joy of finding and making “best friends”.

    I am so glad Diya also started school. She is anyway such a social bachcha, she is sure to rock! Good luck to the cuddle-bum. And good luck to you, Melting Mommy πŸ™‚

    • Trust me, Kabir and Bhavik (my brother’s son) have been the inspiration behind this decision of mine!!

      And thanks for your best wishes πŸ™‚ We sure do need them!!

    • Yep.. things are good at my end.. Just a few ideas waiting for the right time to get published here… πŸ™‚ thanks for your concern, dear…

      This morning seems a little more warmer with love thanks to messages and hugs like these πŸ™‚ (yeah, despite the weather outside!)

  4. Yeah..we so often think that parents and in-laws are enough for a child. But after 2, they really long for another child’s company. My daughter is an only child, and when we put her in playschool, we realized just how much she was missing companionship at home 😦

Leave a Reply

