Uprooted

– is exactly how I am feeling right now…

I dialed the familiar number again. It said ‘Then number you are dialing is out of service.”Ā  And it broke my heart.

The telephone line has finally been disconnected.

And this is just the beginning of cutting off the ties.

My parents are shifting from Solan to Bangalore. As much as this brings joy to my heart, it is very painful to even think that we might not be able to visit that place ever again. Though they are carrying most of the stuff that signified our childhood, it still is impossible to bring with themselves the air we breathed in, the comfort of being in that small and beautiful town of Solan.



21 thoughts on “Uprooted

  1. Aww hugs dear šŸ™‚

    I know hw u must be feeling! The joy of hvng them in the same city and not having to plan vacations to meet them but @ the same time the warmth of the hometown šŸ˜

    Hope the joy overrides the other feelings soon šŸ™‚ Glad to hv u bk šŸ™‚

  2. I know exactly how you feel. I felt the same when my parents moved from Jamshedpur. It was home for over 29 years for me, and suddenly, I realised that I might never even visit it again šŸ˜¦ Every childhood memory of friends, schools..I can so relate to this post..

    • So true…
      Its really hard to let go of the place which helped in shaping up your personality. I feel Solan and its culture has a lot to do with my dreams and ambitions for the future.

  3. awww…poor u. but remember very few people continue living in the same place they were born till they die. you are not alone…there is always solace in company šŸ™‚

    where is solan?

  4. Hey

    I totally understand how exactly you must be feeling. It is so…so difficult to think about & accept this. Hometown is always something so dear to our hearts and thinking that we will never go there, at least like earlier is just so sad šŸ˜¦ . The same happened to me when i came to Delhi from Mohali, Mohali not being my hometown though.

    As ART said its such a common thing and happens to everyone.

    Leaving a great video for you:

    One of my fav šŸ™‚

    • Thank you!! It was a shweet video!!!!

      As I mentioned in the reply to Art’s comment – Its more about the comfort feeling that one gets while visiting the home town. Having parents in the same city is great.. a God Sent opportunity. But at the same time, the pain of letting go of Solan is overwhelming.

  5. Pixie says:

    hugs!

    I totally understand how you are feeling…
    but, the bright side side is your parents are with you, living closer to share all your joys and watch your little one grow up šŸ™‚

    good to see u blogging again

    šŸ™‚

  6. Sheeesh!

    All that you had
    is still deep rooted.

    the love, the smile,
    the joy that you cared

    time dries the
    rain that sang.

    leaves withers
    roof changes.

    But, the sky?
    miles apart is still shared

    Close your eyes,
    flash a smile
    for the castle
    in the heart
    never changes.

    For what is deep rooted
    is never uprooted

Leave a Reply

