Would she ever know?

That I try to wake up early (before she does) just to catch glimpse of her innocent face.

That I switch the lights on just as she is about to sleep – to watch and admire her sleep-heavy eyelids.

That I try to reach a little before her school gets over – to see how she waves good bye to her friends and teachers.

That I schedule the break and meal times to match hers.

That I try to do a little exercise just to be able to play with her.

That I am making sure she gets all the comforts in life.

That sometimes I only ‘pretend’ to be tough.

That I can go on and on with singing if it pleases her despite sore throat.

That my fever-struck body is able to move only because she wants to dance with me.

That one of the reasons why I started to work again was my obsession with her, and I had to try and overcome it.

That I love her so much that it has become an integral part of me and my identity …

12 thoughts on “Would she ever know?

  1. Aww! All this is true for me too πŸ™‚ The only thing I did not do is go back to work πŸ™‚

    Guess every mom would be able to identify with this post πŸ™‚

  2. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    I’m not sure what to say, except I loved this post!
    She will know all that and more, just like how you do about your mom! πŸ™‚
    Hugs! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

