And I thought that wearing clothes was in the personal domain !!

Perhaps I am lucky enough to have been born in a liberal family and married in an equally progressive family.

But isn’t it plain common sense that what I wear is nobody’s business!! My family might have a say in it (which I agree to sometimes, knowing very well their intentions ) but not someone whom I don’t even know!! I might decide to wear sari one day and salwar-kameez on other. Sometimes I cover my head, sometimes I don’t.  It all depends on what I feel like and where I am. If I am comfortable in it and not hurting anyone in a tangible manner then what right does Government (of all people!!) has to decide for me???

What is next? Bill against Indian sari for being too revealing?

In the entire bill, I could agree only to ‘forcing to wear burqa’ as an offense.

2 thoughts on “And I thought that wearing clothes was in the personal domain !!

Leave a Reply

