The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest – Stieg Larsson

The very fact that I read this book in six straight hours (of which two were spent while I was traveling in an auto!) tells a lot about how much I found this book unputdownable (yeah , I just invented this word ).  I had been reading Indian authors for quite some time now and felt the need to change. Somehow Indian authors concentrate more on the emotional aspect of the characters than the technicalities involved. In this book’s case, the phenomenon was reversed. For once I was more involved into the whos and whats than whys.

The plot is quite fast paced and you need to really read it word by word to understand the references made. And I had some difficulty with names. Swedish names are difficult for me to pronounce. They are long and in this story some of them are quite similar to each other, making it rather hard for a fast reader like me to follow! The characters are not so plausible at certain places and some of the events are bizarrely simplistic in nature.

There is no mystery as in ‘who dun it’, rather ‘how to prove innocence’ which again was established from page 1 itself. It’s the flow of events, mish-mash of characters that you would enjoy more than the story itself.

For me, this one was a good 3 of 5 points.

4 thoughts on “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornets’ Nest – Stieg Larsson

  1. If you search for “unputdownable” you will be surprised how many times (starting 1947) the word has been ‘invented’. What have you been drinking lately?

  2. You read this book that I have always been meaning to read!!

    I read the first in the series The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, but somehow never managed to start on the next one…too big a gap 😦

    Glad you liked the book though

    • I haven’t read the previous book in the series. And I am not sure if I do want to do so. This one pretty much gave a hint of what might have happened.Though your review on the same did make me curious and I wanted to go back and buy it!
      BTW, I am hunting for the next book to read(not from this series). Any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

