Role Reversal!

She cups my face with her hands and asks me ‘Kaa huaa?’ (What happened?) whenever I am sitting quietly. Well, me sitting quietly implies something is wrong (since I am always singing/laughing/playing while Diya is around).

She makes me sleep in her lap (yeah I know it’s too small to accommodate me! And I find it difficult to explain this to Diya!!). Pats my head, strokes my hair and sings nursery rhymes (lullabies!)

She teaches me Sargam! Yeah, she knows the notes! (Pat on my back!)

She instructs her dad to take off his watch and instructs him to ‘theek se pehno’ (Wear it properly).

Whenever I am sad (or pretending to be!), she hugs me, sings ‘No No No…’, kisses me and says ‘O Bachha’ . This prompts me to cry (just to get more of her attention πŸ˜‰ ) and she immediately hugs me back and starts singing to soothe me πŸ™‚ (We are both BIG drama queens as A keeps saying πŸ˜‰ )

Last evening after I had hurt my knee, she came to me pointed out at the wound and said ‘chot lag gayi?’ And when I nodded (with a sad face), she brought a handkerchief, and started dabbing on it!

She takes her book and teaches me ABCs! I love her ‘What is this?’ and the answers which she provides herself (as a part of her teaching activity πŸ™‚ )

I am loving every moment of being a mother… Especially the ones like these when I get pampered for a change! It makes me go back into the religious and philosophical mode and thank God for his blessings! Yeah, I know this is like tempting fate (and unfriendly elements) to jinx my words.. But what the heck! Let me just soak in the warmth of love one more time!

4 thoughts on “Role Reversal!

Leave a Reply

