The immortals of Meluha – By Amish

When I was big enough to realize that I had more responsibilities than other kids of my age, and that I had to take care of myself as well as my younger sister while my parents were out for work, there were a few things that my mother taught me. One of them was that no matter what, I was never alone. I would always be looked after by my God. She didn’t tell me ‘which’ God that would be! We used to go to Gurudwaras, as well as temples. My parents told me stories of Gods and Godmen. And there was this one God who I felt was strong enough to take care of me! And that was Lord Shiva. I loved reciting his Artis. And the rituals associated with his Aradhna. I even fasted on Mondays. Yes, it was when I was still a young girl. And no, it was not to get a ‘good husband’.
During days I was down with fever or ill health and my mother could not be around, I used to imagine myself playing, jumping, singing and dancing somewhere in the snowcapped mountains, with my God, someone who was as dear as my own father (and during rifts with my father, even stronger than him πŸ˜‰ ). It had a healing effect on me. I still think of my God as a father figure, a companion, a friend who ‘listens’ to my cribbing, eases my sufferings and shares my joys. This is the kind of relationship I have with My Lord Shiva.

ImageAnd so this book fascinated me. Shiva, as a man. Shiva as an ordinary man. Shiva as someone you not only worship or respect, but also relate to as a fellow human being.

I was disappointedΒ a little. But it was my fault. This book is not about only Shiva. It is about different ways of living, different philosophies we follow and different rules we abide by. Shiva here could be any man from that era with that right combination of strength, goodness and will.

The narration is smooth. The story is fascinating. Action and romance well balanced πŸ˜‰ I did find the author losing his way at some places, though. At times the explanations are too scientific and in sync with our present times to be believed that they were originated around 1900BC. The language is too modern and casual for someone belonging to an era long gone by. For someone who might not be as close to the concept of Shiva as God, this book might be just another work of fiction with the protagonist being a lovable character who finds himself being made responsible for safety and well being of a large state.

The book might not be of very high literary standard, but it has an interesting subject and you might like to read it on a relaxed weekend!

I give it 2.5 out of 5 stars

Β 

(pic from here)

12 thoughts on “The immortals of Meluha – By Amish

    • Yeah.. the story is quite fascinating… keeps you hooked on till the very end… and the end – wants you to buy the second part asap!

  1. I loved the book! Read it thru my flight back… enjoyed it.. I’m fascinated by the whole story… I’m also watching the Lord Shiva mythology story on Life’s OK channel as well and that story is completely opposite of the book – though the book is more fiction.. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    • yeah, it is very different from what ‘Amar Chitra Katha’ or any other book has told me about Shiva’s life. And so I take it as a pure fiction! But still enjoyable!

  2. Love This Post says:

    Here in California, three of us techies (2 guys and a girl) go twice a week to learn Shiva chants from the Vedas — proper chanting with intonations and all. And none of us is from priestly background. None of us is even a Brahmin.

    Unlike you, I am not very devout. But those sounds, they inspire me no end. Actually, an hour ago, over dinner, we were discussing the effect it has on each of us.

Leave a Reply

