Is this what we teach our kids??!!!

While reading out from Diya’s Rhyme book, I came across this gem –

 

Peter, Peter, Pumpkin Eater,

Had a wife and couldn’t keep her,

Put her in a pumpkin shell,

And there he kept her, very well.

 

I am glad Diya was too distracted to ask me questions….  But she won’t be untouched or unaffected for too long. What would I tell her then?

 

And I find it very difficult to read out Cinderella (or for that matter, any fairy tale) to her. I end up making my own stories. What do I tell? Why are step mothers/sisters always bad? Why is being the fairest of them all should be life’s sole motto? Why should I wait for a prince charming to come and rescue me from small and big crisis that I might face?

 

Why not instead, they can focus on some more meaningful (or even meaningless) stories – which just speak of various joys and challenges that life throws at us?

 

 

7 thoughts on “Is this what we teach our kids??!!!

  1. I can tell you whose fault it is .. It is a man’s fault. He he he he sorry sorry I had to make that joke..:-)

    Totally understand wat you are saying and agree with you I think its high time the stories are changed to match with the current environment..

    The problm is we tend to follow the ways and stories that were written ages ago to suit the mindset or ways thenn… We shud have evolved our stories rhymes as we evolved..

    A very valid point to think about for sure…

    • 🙂 🙂 Ok Ok!! I totally get that joke!!! Male bashing is the easiest route to take when we don’t have substantial points to make..

      I agree about the need to evolve the stories and rhymes…The present lot makes me feel sick..

  2. You know, when daughter was little, I used to change the story the way I liked it -can’t do that anymore. But thankfully the books we get from school have been politically corrected, so the primitive references have been modified, and made much more sensible. And the books that she picks up from the library as well, are quite sensible, normal books.

    I find most of the traditional fairy tales unpalatable – the Ugly Duckling, for instance. But I have understood that as far as we send out the right messages, our children will be fine. Infact one of the disney Snow White books that she has – has a bit where Snow White dreamt of a Prince coming to rescue her. Daughter read that and said, ‘That’s so silly, why does she have to wait for someone to recue her- she should just go and live in another house by herself!’. Needless to say, that made me very very happy 🙂

    • 🙂 i am fine with them being meaningless as well!!! But I dont agree with the nonsense they publish for kids… (esp for kids)

Leave a Reply

