Health issues

It is strange, isn’t it, that despite knowing how important our health is, we continue to abuse our bodies, neglect ourselves till the point it all breaks down! And then we are left with nothing but regret.

I crossed thirty a few years back. I know the limitations of my body. And yet, I don’t care for it. Despite reminding myself over and over again, I continue to make the same mistakes! What do you call it? Careless?Callous? I call it Criminal.I do go for morning walks .. but of late I have been skipping them rather frequently, giving all lame excuses.Β  I put it on A or Diya. I keep complaining that they don’t wake up early and so it makes me feel demotivated! I know I am wrong. And yet…

I take pride in the fact that throughout my pregnancy and after Diya’s birth, despite medical complications, feeding routines etc, my Hb count and Calcium levels were high enough to have my doctors smiling at me! I thanked my mother and her two-full-glass-milk-a-day rule at home. But as they say, you can’t survive only on the good deeds of your parents. You need to take it a little further. I am sorry,NO.. I am ashamed to say that I haven’t been a good girl. I haven’t been eating properly, or drinking milk. The worst part is that it shows. Low stamina, mood swings…. well… they are just indicators, aren’t they?

A few days back I came across picture of the new mommy Aishwarya Rai and along with it a number of comments on how good it is for her to not bother about weight and concentrate on the bigger and more important task at hand – taking care of the baby! Inspiring! And it did make me ease my guilt – but that was momentary. I realized that I still look like a new mommy. Which is not a bad thing – if I was one! But It’s been four and half years. Back then, I didn’t worry about the growing fat deposits since I was afraid it would affect the feeding cycle. Still I had two and half years – of no excuse. There is nothing but pure laziness on my part that got me to this place – where the mirror and the camera shy away, and people have started wondering if the ‘good-news’ is on the way!!

Every morning, I wake up with a dull ache in my body. Every night I go to sleep with a regret in my heart. It can’t go on forever. I can’t shy away from what I have become. And I can’t put the blame on anyone else but myself.

 

 

13 thoughts on “Health issues

  1. May this post and the reflection it brought along, be your motivation for regular exercise and a healthier eating pattern from today itself.
    Get going Puja…good luck!!

  2. so is there any good news then πŸ™‚ he he hee

    forget about aishwarya rai .. she probably has a Team of aya’s , domestic helps and gym instructors .. food people and all that to make sure she is in fine shape

    Every day is a good day to start so start doing something from today .. sometimes when i am home and miss gym i simply go up and down the stairs a dozen times …

  3. I also go through phases when morning walks although fun are skipped for no real reason except procrastination!! This Jan I planned and took a photo every morning (almost) and it was amazing to see the pictures later, from foggy morning, to yellowing leaves, and then sunnier mornings πŸ™‚

    • The word ‘procrastination’ was created keeping me and my character in mind!!!
      Taking pictures is a cool idea.. let me try that too… πŸ™‚

  4. Puja, as for mood swings and health problems, almost all women go through them! Take care. It is never too late to pick up an exercise routine and do count your calories! It is so easy to preach πŸ˜€

    • Yeah.. I am planning to go for a full health checkup next week…
      Counting calories is so not me! But I have to make a start and I guess this is a part of the good health program!

  5. I go through such realizations often when it strikes me suddenly how callous I have been of my health, and then I go back to my lazy procrastinating self only to regret it..a vicious cycle it has become! After reading your post I am truly drive to get up and start taking my health a bit more seriously!

  6. Smita says:

    I felt I was reading my own thoughts πŸ™‚
    I guess it is a vicious circle which if not broken in time can pose serious danger to us! And trust me there is nobody but us who can do something about it!!!
    Good luck πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

