“Momma, today I was unconscious in the class.”

Sounds so dreadful, isn’t it? You can imagine why I almost had a heart attack when I heard these words coming from Diya.  I slumped in the sofa and managed to ask her about what happened and how.

We had been part of the same class (Carnatic Vocal) for some months and it was working out pretty well. And then one fine day she told me that she wanted to go in a different batch. ‘I get conscious’, she said. I understood that she wanted some space and would be more comfortable being on her own, and so we started going to class on different days. On the first day of this changed schedule, she came back home and dropped this bomb on me –

“Momma, today I was unconscious in the class.”

It was only after a few moments of indescribable torture that I understood what she meant 🙂

 

3 thoughts on ““Momma, today I was unconscious in the class.”

Leave a Reply

